top of page

SPOTLIGHT CD REVIEW: QUARTET TRIBUTE VOL. 3- TRIBUTE QUARTET

SOUTHERN GOSPEL SPOTLIGHT PRESENTS:


CD REVIEW:


QUARTET TRIBUTE VOL. 3


TRIBUTE QUARTET



LABEL: DAYWIND RECORDS

PRODUCER: GERALD WOLFE

RELEASE DATE: OCTOBER 6, 2023, AVAILABLE NOW!


GROUP MEMBERS: GARY CASTO (LEAD), JOSH SINGLETARY (BARITONE/PIANIST), GUS GACHES (TENOR), AND IAN OWENS (BASS)


SONG LIST:

  1. My Nonstop Flight to Gloryland (Charles Wycuff)

  2. So Many Reasons (Why I Love The Lord) (Jimmie Davis, David Reece)

  3. Cheer The Weary Traveler (Public Domain)

  4. Acres Of Diamonds (Arthur Smith)

  5. What A Precious Friend Is He (Henry Slaughter)

  6. Some Day (Some Happy Day) (Public Domain)

  7. He Pilots My Ship (Ronnie Hinson)

  8. Do You Know My Jesus? (V.B. Ellis, William Lakey)

  9. I Want To Get Closer (James S. Wetherington)

  10. I Just Steal Away And Pray (Albert E. Brumley)


THOUGHTS:

There is nothing like good old fashioned quartet singing. Tribute Quartet once again pays tribute to great artists of the past with this third installment of their Quartet Tribute series. This incredible album features ten Southern Gospel classics showcasing the talented lineup of Gary Casto, Josh Singletary, Gus Gaches, and Ian Owens. I must commend the group for the song selection on this recording as it is a great mix of recognizable songs and songs that have not been over recorded.

Volume Three opens with a stellar rendition of the quartet tune “My Nonstop Flight To Gloryland,” which was notably recorded by the Cathedrals. Gus Gaches and Ian Owens trade off on each chorus with the latter hitting an impressive low note on the last chorus. “So Many Reasons (Why I Love The Lord)” features Gary Casto’s smooth lead vocal. This incredible song simply says: I can’t count all the reasons why I love the Lord. He saved me and has blessed me beyond measure. Casto is also featured on the second verse of the up-tempo tune “Some Day (Some Happy Day),” which I believe will be a hit at concerts. This fun song looks forward to the day when we join Christ in Heaven.

“Acres Of Diamonds” is a beautiful ballad (originally recorded by George Beverly Shea) that reminds us of the treasures that money can’t buy. If you have Jesus, you have more wealth in your soul. More than acres of diamonds and mountains of gold. I was not familiar with this song prior to this project. This song is incredible as is the arrangement. The harmonies are simply brilliant.

Josh Singletary takes the lead on the fun quartet standard “Cheer The Weary Traveler,” the tender ballad “What A Precious Friend Is He,” and the Hinson classic “He Pilots My Ship.” Gus Gaches shines on the Vep Ellis penned ballad “Do You Know My Jesus?” This timeless classic invites people to know Jesus. He loves us and will abide with us if we ask Him into our hearts. Ian Owens takes the lead on the groovy bass feature “I Want To Get Closer,” which was written by bass singing legend James “Big Chief” Wetherington. Owens also shines on the Albert Brumley penned tune “I Just Steal Away And Pray.” Tribute Quartet puts their own spin on this classic by slowing it down and making it more of a ballad. The group’s harmonies are on full display on this incredible song as well.


FINAL THOUGHTS:

TRIBUTE HAS DONE IT AGAIN! THIS ALBUM IS HONESTLY SOME OF THEIR BEST WORK. INCREDIBLE SONGS, STELLAR VOCALS, AND TOP NOTCH MUSICIANSHIP. I LOVE THE CLASSIC SONGS AND THESE PROJECTS ARE RIGHT UP MY ALLEY. TRIBUTE HAS BREATHED LIFE INTO THESE TIMELESS CLASSICS IN SUCH A FANTASTIC WAY. TRULY ANNOINTED!

HIGHLIGHTS INCLUDE: “I WANT TO GET CLOSER,” “ACRES OF DIAMONDS,” “MY NONSTOP FLIGHT TO GLORYLAND,” AND “HE PILOTS MY SHIP.”

ONE OF THE BEST ALBUMS OF THE YEAR!


5 OUT OF 5 STARS!

GO GET THIS CD ASAP!

FOR MORE INFORMATION: www.tributequartet.com

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page