top of page

SPOTLIGHT CD REVIEW: LIVE IN AMSTERDAM: A 20TH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION- EH&SS

SOUTHERN GOSPEL SPOTLIGHT PRESENTS:


CD REVIEW:


LIVE IN AMSTERDAM: A 20TH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION


ERNIE HAASE & SIGNATURE SOUND


LABEL: STOWTOWN RECORDS

PRODUCER: WAYNE HAUN, ERNIE HAASE

RELEASE DATE: AUGUST 11, 2023




GROUP MEMBERS: ERNIE HAASE (TENOR), DOUG ANDERSON (BARITONE), PAUL HARKEY (BASS), AND DUSTIN DOYLE (LEAD)


SONG LIST:

  1. Overture (I Thirst, Glorious Day, Old Landmark, Oh, What A Savior, That’s Why, Then Came The Morning, This Could Be The Dawning Of That Day)

  2. Introduction

  3. Happy People

  4. Intro To Reason Enough

  5. Reason Enough

  6. Clear Skies

  7. Group Member Introductions

  8. Three Men On A Mountain with Scars In The Hands Of Jesus

  9. Get Away Jordan

  10. Intro To Jesus Changed Everything

  11. Jesus Changed Everything

  12. Until We Fly Away

  13. Intro To I Know My Savior Cares

  14. I Know My Savior Cares

  15. Intro To Sometimes I Wonder

  16. Sometimes I Wonder

  17. Oh, What A Savior


THOUGHTS:

Ernie Haase & Signature Sound will always have a special place in my heart. Growing up, my grandmother would have Gaither videos playing on her TV while my family and I visited her. When I got older, my love of this music solidified after listening to the Get Away Jordan album. I wore out that CD! I was truly captivated by the message and the incredible four part harmony. I’ve been a fan ever since. My grandmother passed away in 2008 and this music (her favorite music) helped me through. To honor her legacy and love of this music, I started this blog to share my own love for Christ and this music.

Not only am I a fan, I feel I have gotten to know the group over the years through interviews, Facebook chats, and meeting them at concerts. I now consider them dear friends.

With that being said, this review may be a bit biased. This album celebrates the already rich two decades long career of this incredible quartet. Ernie Haase, Dustin Doyle, Doug Anderson, and Paul Harkey shine on the special live project featuring eleven (not counting the overture) of the group’s most popular hits.

This historic project opens with a beautifully orchestrated medley of hits including “That’s Why,” “Glorious Day,” “The Old Landmark,” and “Then Came The Morning.” A rousing rendition of “Happy People,” the tender “Reason Enough,” and the more recent hit “Clear Skies” continue the celebration. Following group introductions, the group delivers one of their best performances in my humble opinion. Paul Harkey takes the lead on his signature song “Scars In The Hands Of Jesus.” I was blown away by the powerful new ending featuring Harkey’s stellar higher range. “Get Away Jordan” and “Until We Fly Away” brought back fond memories of listening to that album when I was a kid. Doug Anderson shines on the latter song just as he did on the original cut. I am glad that he is back with the group. Following a moving testimony about Ernie’s father, the group delivers incredible performances of “Jesus Changed Everything,” “I Know My Savior Cares,” and “Sometimes I Wonder.” This special album closes with Ernie’s and now the quartet’s signature song “Oh, What A Savior.”


FINAL THOUGHTS:

THIS ALBUM IS TRULY SPECIAL! EHSS CELEBRATES 2O YEARS WITH THIS INCREDIBLE LIVE ALBUM FEATURING THEIR CLASSIC HITS.

HERE’S TO ANOTHER 20 YEARS!

GO GET THIS ALBUM ASAP!


5 OUT OF 5 STARS!

FOR MORE INFORMATION: www.erniehaase.com

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page