top of page

SPOTLIGHT CD REVIEW: HYMNS & WORSHIP- TRIUMPHANT QUARTET

SOUTHERN GOSPEL SPOTLIGHT PRESENTS:


CD REVIEW:


HYMNS & WORSHIP


TRIUMPHANT QUARTET



LABEL: STOWTOWN RECORDS

PRODUCER: WAYNE HAUN

RELEASE DATE: JANUARY 20, 2023


GROUP MEMBERS: CLAYTON INMAN (LEAD), SCOTTY INMAN (BARITONE), DAVID SUTTON (TENOR), AND ERIC BENNETT (BASS)


SONG LIST:

  1. Amazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone)

  2. Mercy

  3. Less Like Me

  4. Arise, My Love

  5. My Jesus, I Love Thee

  6. Evidence

  7. It Is Well With Me Soul

  8. Homecoming

  9. My Jesus

  10. Great Is Thy Faithfulness

  11. Help Is On The Way (Maybe Midnight)

  12. How Great Thou Art

  13. The Blessing (ft. Karen Peck Gooch)


THOUGHTS:

Triumphant Quartet kicks off 2023 with a masterpiece of worship. This new project features thirteen incredible songs that range from classic hymns to contemporary and modern. Triumphant puts their signature style on these fantastic songs and delivers what is sure to be a hit record.

The album opens with a beautiful version of the classic “Amazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone.” David Sutton shines on “Mercy,” a tender worshipful ballad that simply says: His Mercy set me free. I stand redeemed by the Mercy of God. “Less Like Me,” featuring Scotty, is a mid-tempo tune that simply says: I want to be more like Jesus and less like me. The group puts their spin on the Newsong classic “Arise, My Love” which is a powerful Resurrection anthem. The quartet’s signature harmonies are on full display on the classic hymn “My Jesus, I Love Thee.” Clayton Inman delivers a powerful vocal performance on the rousing anthem “Evidence,” which simply praises Christ for His Goodness. I see the evidence of Your Goodness all over my life. “It Is Well With My Soul” has been recorded numerous times by many artists over the years. In my humble opinion, this is one of the best versions ever recorded. Clayton Inman takes the lead on the anthem “Homecoming,” which tells of the transforming power of Christ. My debt was nailed to the Cross. An empty slate at an empty grave. I am glad the stone was rolled away. The lost have been found. The Father is welcoming. This is our homecoming. The group then puts their spin on the popular Anne Wilson hit “My Jesus,” which was recently recorded by the LeFevre Quartet. This version featuring David Sutton is another fantastic rendition of this great mid-tempo praise song. Next, the group delivers a powerful version of the classic hymn “Great Is Thy Faithfulness.” Eric Bennett shines on the Toby Mac tune “Help Is On The Way (Maybe Midnight)” which reminds us that God works all things for good. This album closes with a beautiful rendition of “How Great Thou Art” and the powerful anthem “The Blessing” the latter of which features a guest vocal from Karen Peck Gooch.


FINAL THOUGHTS:

TRIUMPHANT KICKS OFF THE YEAR STRONG! THIS ALBUM IS BRILLIANT IN ALL ASPECTS. STELLAR VOCALS, INCREDIBLE SONGS, AND BEAUTIFUL ARRANGEMENTS. HIGHLIGHTS INCLUDE: “IT IS WELL WITH MY SOUL,” “EVIDENCE,” “HOMECOMING,” “MY JESUS,” “MERCY,” “THE BLESSING,” AND “ARISE, MY LOVE.”

5 OUT OF 5 STARS!


FOR MORE INFORMATION: www.triumphantquartet.com


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page