top of page

SPOTLIGHT CD REVIEW: ONE DAY- THE SHARPS QUARTET

SOUTHERN GOSPEL SPOTLIGHT PRESENTS:

CD REVIEW:

ONE DAY

THE SHARPS

LABEL: PENN STREET RECORDS

RELEASE DATE: MARCH 13, 2020

GROUP MEMBERS: ANDY SHARP (TENOR), MIKE LEATH (LEAD), BEN SHARP (BARITONE), AND MIKE “SMITTY” SMITH (BASS)

SONG LIST:

  1. My Home In Heaven

  2. I Can See The Promised Land

  3. My Friends

  4. Worth It All

  5. First Day In Heaven

  6. It’s In Your Hands

  7. Under The Influence Of Mercy

  8. I’ll Never Get Over

  9. Standing On The Promises

  10. Lord, I’m Comin’ Home

THOUGHTS:

The Sharps are one of the best up-and-coming quartets on the road today in my humble opinion. One Day, their debut album on Penn Street Records, features ten exciting songs that will have listeners longing for Home and praising Christ! This CD is also the first with new bass singer Mike Smith. He joins Andy Sharp, Ben Sharp (Andy’s son), and longtime lead singer Mike Leath to form this stellar quartet.

This exciting album opens with the groovy “My Home In Heaven,” which reminds listeners that the world can take away your stuff, but not your home in Heaven! Mike Leath is featured on the tender ballad “I Can See The Promised Land,” which simply reminds us that though storms may gather, there is peace on the other side. Andy Sharp takes the lead on the mid-tempo tune “My Friends,” which hopes that my friends will make it through to Heaven. The smooth baritone of Ben Sharp is featured on the mid-tempo groove “Worth It All.” This catchy tune reminds us that every trial will soon be worth it all when we reach the finish line! “First Day In Heaven,” featuring Mike Leath, is a beautiful ballad which looks to Heaven and the joy we will experience when we enter there. Mike “Smitty” Smith lends his rich bass voice to the power lyric “It’s In Your Hands.” This tender ballad reminds us that despite our failures, Christ will always love us. The first single from the album is the toe tapping, mid-tempo “Under The Influence Of Mercy.” Andy Sharp takes the lead on this song that tells of the transforming power of Christ! I walk by faith not by sight. “If you see something different about me, I am under the influence of mercy.” Leath is featured once again on the mid-tempo tune “I’ll Never Get Over,” which simply, yet profoundly states: I’m thankful for the Cross He carried. It is something I’ll never get over. “Standing On The Promises,” is a fun, groovy tune that features the group’s stellar harmonies and simply says: No matter what the world around us says, I’m standing on His Promises! This great album closes with a powerful rendition of the hymn “Lord, I’m Comin’ Home,” which showcases the group’s beautiful harmonies once again.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

The Sharps have once again delivered a CD that is sure to delight listeners everywhere! One Day is a truly well crafted project with great songs, stellar vocals, and excellent production quality. Mike “Smitty”Smith is an incredible addition to the group. His smooth, rich bass voice adds a great new dynamic to the group. Highlights include: “Lord, I’m Comin’ Home,” “Under The Influence Of Mercy,” “My Home In Heaven,” and “It’s In Your Hands.”

4 OUT OF 5 STARS!

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Visit: www.thesharpsquartet.com

****REVIEW COPY PROVIDED BY PENN STREET RECORDS****

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page