top of page

SONG CORNER: "I GET TO"- THE OAK RIDGE BOYS

SONG CORNER

I GET TO-THE OAK RIDGE BOYS

CD: BACK HOME AGAIN (2012)

WRITTEN BY SHERRIE AUSTIN, STEVEN J. WILLIAMS, AND WIL NANCE

"There's a lot of things I don't have to do, I get to." That my friends is a powerful statement! This song offers us a different way of thinking about the daily tasks of life. We, at times, feel like there are so many things to do and the burdens of life are hard to bear. We feel like we have to do them. We also take for granted the little things such as saying I love you to our parents for example. Your whole life can change dramatically with such a simple shift in thinking. Instead of I have to work, or I have to go to school, or whatever the case may be, we should be thankful that we are alive to do these things. I get to share my passion for this music, tell my family I love them, spend time with friends. I don't have to do anything, but I get to and I'm so glad that God has given me life and the people in my life. Duane Allen gives a beautiful performance on this simple yet powerful song. This is a perfect example of a song that says something as Bill Gaither would say. Allen said in yestersday's interview that he takes the lead on songs that resonate with him and that say something important. This song does just that! Rememeber, there are alot of things that we GET TO DO by the grace of God!

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page