top of page

SPOTLIGHT INTERVIEW WITH JOE BROWN OF THE DIPLOMATS

SOUTHERN GOSPEL SPOTLIGHT PRESENTS

AN INTERVIEW WITH JOE BROWN OF THE DIPLOMATS

1408797979.jpg

It is no secret that my favorite part of a quartet is the bass part. There are so many incredible bass singers in Southern Gospel music and Joe Brown is one of the best!! Brown sings bass for the Diplomats, (founded in 1968), a very unique group with a hard hitting sound. The Diplomats are different than most Southern Gospel groups in that they have two quartets: a mixed quartet and an all male quartet. The current lineups of the groups include: Jim Pearson (Baritone), his wife Rita Pearson (Alto), Corey Pearson (Lead, Bass Guitar), Joe Brown (Bass), and Harold Reed (Tenor). The group travels with a live band which includes: Zack Flowers (Drums), Jordan Hamby (Guitar, Banjo), and Jeremy Elliot (Piano). The groups has experienced great success as seen by being nominated in the top ten mixed quartets from 2008- 2014.

Brown is known for his deep, rich bass voice and his incredible low notes as seen in the videos below. I contacted Mr. Brown via Facebook and he graciously agreed to the following interview! Enjoy!

J. Gilmore: Hello Mr. Brown! So, how did you get your start in Southern Gospel music?

J. Brown: I grew up in a church that sung southern gospel and supported SG groups. My brother and sister in law were with a group call the Gospel Travelers. I went over to there to a practice sessions and they were looking for a bass singer. The manager of the group thought I was there to try out and asked me if I could sing bass. I said," I can sing anything."(Jokingly) I got the job. At the ripe age of 17...

J. Gilmore: Wow! 17 years old!! That’s great! Who are your musical influences?

J. Brown: I like a lot of different types of music, SG being my favorite. Elvis, JD Sumner, George Younce, London Paris, Tim Riley.

J. Gilmore: Those men could sing!! Incredible bass singers! Who is your favorite bass singer? Singer in general?

J. Brown: Tim Riley and Michael English

J. Gilmore: Riley is known for hitting amazing low notes. What is the lowest bass note you can hit?

J. Brown: Really don't know. hahaha

Haven't hit it yet...I have a pretty good idea, but not gonna limit myself.

J. Gilmore: That’s a great way to look at it. Who are your favorite groups? Past or present.

J. Brown: Gold City, Downings, JD and the Stamps, Diplomats. I really like all GOOD SG music. Hard to choose.

J. Gilmore: I agree, with so many great groups like that: it’s hard to choose. So, how did you come in contact with the Diplomats?

J. Brown: Almost 10 years ago Jim was looking for a bass singer. At the time I was singing with a group called Enlisted.

I had been with them almost 2 years when I was lead to the Dips.

J. Gilmore: Awesome! What has been the best part of traveling with Diplomats? J. Brown: We are really different than most groups because we have a full band, (live music); we have a mixed quartet and a male quartet. The best part of it all is singing with folks you love to be around and have the same focus and ideas about our music. It’s like an extended family.

J. Gilmore: Awesome! Two groups in one! Glad to hear that it’s like a family. What is your favorite song to sing?

J. Brown: Lonesome Road.......Child Of a King

J. Gilmore: Two incredible songs! What is your favorite Scripture verse?

J. Brown: Romans 8:18

J. Gilmore: What is something that people might not know about you?

J. Brown: I have been married to Debbie almost 39 years. Have 3 daughters, and 6 grand kids. 4 boys and 2 girls. I like old cars, I hate to shop.

I was a manager for retail grocery stores before I got back into singing full time.

J. Gilmore: That’s fantastic! What is the most memorable experience you’ve had in your years of singing Gospel music?

J. Brown: Meeting my heroes and singing at NQC...

J. Gilmore: What can fans expect from the Diplomats this year?

J. Brown: More new music and the same hard hitting sounds we are known for.

J. Gilmore: Awesome! Any advice for aspiring Gospel artists?

J. Brown: Yes....

1. Learn your craft. Singing schools, vocal teachers, etc.

2. Be yourself. Don't try to sound like someone else.

3. Know Whom you sing about. Make it about HIM and not you.

4. Find people to place around you that will encourage you in music and spirituality.

5. Be kind to the fans. They pay for your living. Be Humble. For real!

J. Gilmore: Thanks for your time!

J. Brown: Thanks!!

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page