top of page

SPOTLIGHT INTERVIEW: AMBER NELON THOMPSON OF THE NELONS

SOUTHERN GOSPEL SPOTLIGHT PRESENTS

AN INTERVIEW WITH AMBER NELON THOMPSON OF THE NELONS

051_edited.JPG

The Nelons are without a doubt one of the most beloved groups in Southern Gospel music!! Rex Nelon prided himself on having a good quality group not only in terms of vocals and music, but also integrity of members. All of the above can be said of his granddaughter Amber. Thompson is the daughter of Kelly Nelon and Jerry Thompson, who sang lead for the Nelons for well over a decade. In 2003, the group was in need of a soprano and young Amber stepped in to fill the role. Thompson has a angelic voice full of power and emotion. She is one of the best young vocalists on the road today in my opinion! I have had the pleasure of seeing the Nelons live with the Gaither Homecoming Tour a year or two ago and was blown away by the incredible harmony of this trio!! As with previous interviews, I contacted Miss Thompson via Facebook and she graciously agreed to this interview!!

So without further ado, here is the interview!

J. Gilmore: Hello Amber! So, how did you get your start in Southern Gospel music?

A. Thompson: Well my family has always sang my whole life so I was kinda born into it. But when I turned 12 years old, The Nelons needed a soprano singer. I filled in for 2 weeks and then it became permanent. J. Gilmore: Wow! That must have crazy being only 12 years old when you joined the group!! Who are your musical influences?

A. Thompson: In gospel music it would have to be my mom (Kelly Nelon) and Karen Peck! In secular I've always admired Celine Dion and Barbara Streisand.

J. Gilmore: Great vocalist to admire!! Who is your favorite singer (in Gospel or secular music)?

A. Thompson: Definitely Celine Dion! J. Gilmore: Great! Who are your favorite groups? Past or present

A. Thompson: That's tough. I don't really have a favorite group but I love the Gaither Vocal Band of course and I love anything with harmony! J. Gilmore: The GVB is one of my favorite groups as well!! Such amazing harmony!! Speaking of Gaither, your grandfather Rex was a main fixture of the Homecoming videos in his later years. What is your favorite memory of him?

A. Thompson: My grandfather used to tease me and help me learn when we were driving down the road in the bus. He would write me letters and misspell them and turn the letters backwards to see if I would notice. He also always sang songs he made up just for me and would tickle me in the process. I laughed until I cried.

J. Gilmore: Sounds like you two had some great times together! Though I never knew him, he seemed to me to be a man who loved his family and the Lord! He also was an incredible bass singer!! What has been the best part of traveling with your family?

A. Thompson: Just being together and experiencing new places together. It's fun because we can stop whenever we want and go wherever.

J. Gilmore: Awesome!! What is your favorite song to sing?

A. Thompson: Right now I would have to say "More Than Wonderful." J. Gilmore: What a great song!! You sing it beautifully!! What is your favorite Scripture verse?

A. Thompson: John 3:30 J. Gilmore: What is something that people might not know about you?

A. Thompson: I’m very athletic. I played sports all throughout high school and college. My favorite sport was basketball and I was even offered a scholarship to play for the University of Georgia, which I turned down because I knew God wanted me to sing instead. J. Gilmore: Great! What is the most memorable experience you’ve had in your years of singing Gospel music?

A. Thompson: Traveling with Bill Gaither we get to meet the coolest people on the planet. Those are too many to tell but meeting George Beverly Shea was pretty amazing for me. J. Gilmore: That’s incredible!! Any advice for aspiring Gospel artists?

A. Thompson: This is not an easy thing to do. Being on the road every weekend, away from family and friends is hard. You have to make sure it is your calling and it's what God wants you to do. Otherwise, you'll never be able to do it.

J. Gilmore: Wise words!! What can fans expect from the Nelons this year?

A. Thompson: Many new projects. I am finishing my solo project this year and the Nelons are working on a brand new project as well. Plus we are doing a few surprise projects that we are keeping secret until we release but I will tell you this much, it will be one of my favorite things we have ever done!

J. Gilmore: Looking forward to these projects!! Thanks for your time!

For more info on The Nelons (i.e. tour dates etc.), visit their website: http://kellynelon.com/

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page