top of page

SPOTLIGHT INTERVIEW WITH THOMAS NALLEY OF THE LEFEVRE QUARTET

SOUTHERN GOSPEL SPOTLIGHT PRESENTS

AN INTERVIEW WITH THOMAS NALLEY OF THE LEFEVRE QUARTET

The name LeFevre has been a mainstay in Southern Gospel music for decades. This family's legacy is now represented by the group known as the LeFevre Quartet. Mike LeFevre started the group about ten years ago and it's going strong. In 2012, tenor Harold Reed left the quartet and a fresh face stepped in: Thomas Nalley. Nalley has certainly become one of the best young tenors in the business! He has added an exciting and powerful tenor voice to the group! Recently, I contacted Nalley for an interview and he graciously accepted!! Thanks so much to Mr. Nalley for taking time out his busy schedule to answer my questions!!

So without further ado, here is the interview!!

J. Gilmore: Hello Mr. Nalley! So, how did you get your start in Southern Gospel music?

T. Nalley: My wife introduced me to the world of Southern Gospel. She was a huge Cathedrals fan! Shortly after we married I joined my first group Solid Rock. Always loved good tight harmonies and choral singing so this "New Style" was right up my alley. Love everything about it!

J. Gilmore: That's awesome!! I've noticed alot of singers count the Cathedrals as their reason for singing this great music! Who are your musical influences? T. Nalley: Any of the Cathedrals! To me they were always the group that seemed to have it all together. Later in my career I became a Gold City fan. Loved the group with Mike, Ivan, Brian, and Tim however I have to be honest when I say my favorite growing up was Mark, Jonathan, Jay, and Tim. This was really the group that inspired me to sing at a full time capacity. I am amazed looking back on the old videos and albums of both Gold City configurations how they all just seemed to be perfect, singing machines. I now strive for that same perfection, I believe God is worthy of our very best! And that’s what I try to give Him every night.

J. Gilmore: That's great! I also quite enjoy both groups!! Both quartets had amazing tenors. Who is your favorite tenor singer? Singer in general?

T. Nalley: I have a few 1st would be Danny Funderburk, love the way he mixes power and finesse. Next would be Wes Hampton and Chris Allman, they are just all around solid tenors. 3rd would have to be David Phelps, I call him THE PHENOM! lol Other favorites would include Tim Riley, George Younce, Lauren Harris, Joseph Habedank, and Glen Payne.

J. Gilmore: Wow!! I'm with you on those choices!! Danny, Wes, David, and Chris are some of the best tenors ever!! Also, Tim and George are two of the greatest bass singers of all time in my opinion!! Each of the tenors you mentioned are known for some incredible high notes. What is the highest note you can comfortably hit? T. Nalley: I really don't know but there is a quote I love when it comes to that question. "If you want to have a long healthy career, find the highest note you can hit and then, never sing it."

J. Gilmore: Cool! What a great quote! I don't think I've heard that one before, but it is a wise word. Who are your favorite groups? Past or present T. Nalley: Cathedrals, Gold City, Kingdom Heirs, Triumphant, LeFevre Quartet of course lol

J. Gilmore: Speaking of the Lefevres, how did you come in contact with them?

T. Nalley: Mike and I were introduced through a mutual friend. I still can’t believe I get to stand on the same stage every night with one of my heroes. I was actually considered for the tenor position when Jeremy Easley left before Harold Reed came, just was not Gods timing for my life. I was thrilled when the opportunity came back around a second time.

J. Gilmore: Great!! What has been the best part of traveling with Mike and the guys?

T. Nalley: My favorite part of traveling with The LeFevre Quartet would have to be singing with four true Christians. I love the fellowship we share on and off the stage. Mike has been such a spiritual leader for this group. We all love each other and it shows in our stage presence and our personal lives. It is very much about Ministry with our group! I love that. Besides that I also enjoy time at the product table meeting new faces. I cherish the many lifelong friendships I've made, we have so many people that invest time and energy into LQ and love on us. Grateful that God has put me in a position to affect someone’s life in a positive way!

J. Gilmore: God's love definitely shines through you all!! You are all great men of God and a joy to listen to and watch! You all sing so many songs. What is your favorite song to sing?

T. Nalley: My favorite song to sing would currently be "I Know A Man Who Can". Trials that God has brought me through have made this song have true meaning for my family and I.

J. Gilmore: That's one of my favorite Cathedral songs and you do a fantastic job on it! You sound a lot like Kirk Talley! What is your favorite Scripture verse?

T. Nalley: 2 Corinthians 10:3-5 and Matthew 11:28

J. Gilmore: Great words!! What is something that people might not know about you? T. Nalley: I used to drive a Garbage truck for a living. I am very artistic; love anything to do with Art!

J. Gilmore: Cool! I bet singing is a little better than being a garbage man! haha What is the most memorable experience you’ve had in your years of singing Gospel music?

T. Nalley: I was actually singing with a group by the name of Providence Quartet. We were right in the middle of a song called "Run To Jesus" when a young man sitting in the second row jumped over the first row of pews to get to the altar, literally running with tears streaming down his face. That will stand out in my mind forever.

J. Gilmore: That's an incredible story! Any advice for aspiring Gospel artists?

T. Nalley: Just be confident in your calling. Practice your craft whether it be playing or singing or even speaking. Be open to criticism, this one is hard for all of us I know. Build relationships no matter where you are in ministry, connections always payoff down the road! STAY HUMBLE, God could have given my talent to anyone he chose, thankful he chose me! The number one advice I would always give though is put God first in all you do!

J. Gilmore: Wise advice!! What can fans expect from the group this year?

T. Nalley: We have several things going on this year. 1-We are going to be releasing our LIVE album and DVD in the next few months. 2- We are going to be in the studio the next few months working on a brand new project, we have got some amazing songs picked out. Everyone is going to love it! 3- We have recently partnered with Helping Hands and may be planning a trip to Uganda. 4- Several big dates such as NQC of course we are on Main Stage 2 nights this year, Memphis Quartet show, and our Christmas Tour to name a few! We have some other BIG things in the works but I am not allowed to let the cat out of the bag so you'll just have to "stay tuned". We are all praying as a group that God would expand our territory this year; we would appreciate if you would join us!

J. Gilmore: Wow!! We have got a lot to look forward to this year!! I'll be sure to review the upcoming cd and dvd!! Thanks for your time!!

For more info, tour dates, and the latest news from the group, check out their website: http://thelefevrequartet.com/

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page