top of page

SPOTLIGHT INTERVIEW: MCCRAY DOVE OF THE MCCRAY DOVE BAND

SOUTHERN GOSPEL SPOTLIGHT PRESENTS

AN INTERVIEW WITH MCCRAY DOVE OF THE MCCRAY DOVE BAND

12-600.jpg

McCray Dove has been a major fixture in Southern Gospel music for years and is still serving God and singing the Good News all across the country! I recently was able to contact Mr. Dove and he graciously accepted my request to interview him. I have always enjoyed his music and wish someday to see the group in concert. I was taken by surprise when I noticed that McCray had liked the Facebook page for my blog and expressed interest in it. I am overwhelmed with joy to know that the various groups and singers have noticed some new blogger from California. So I must thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to answer my questions and for showing interest in this blog!

So without further ado, here it is!!

J. Gilmore: Hello there Mr. Dove! So how did you get your start in Southern Gospel Music?

M. Dove: Started singing at age 4 at 13 joined a qt called the Countrymen it was there I learn about qt singing from a man named Gerald Milligan. At 17 joined the Dixie Melody Boys stayed 11 years then started the Dove Brothers QT then Dove Brothers Band and now starting 2015 with The McCray Dove Band!

J. Gilmore: Wow! I had not realized you started so young! Who are your musical influences?

M. Dove: Too many to name!

J. Gilmore: Yeah, I'm sure there are alot!! You sang lead for the Dixie Melody Boys which has become known as Ed O'Neal University. What is fondest memory from your time there? M. Dove: Learning from Ed! He didn't just teach you about singing but he taught you about LIFE.

J. Gilmore: Great! Ed is a great man and an legendary bass singer! Who is you favorite singer (in Gospel or secular music)? M. Dove: I really don't have a favorite because the singers I liked all had their own way of singing! In other words you knew it was them. Today I can't tell who's singing anymore.

J. Gilmore: I know what you mean! Some singers aren't unique enough! Who are your favorite groups past or present? M. Dove: Past Statesmen, Stamps, many more! Present I like Dixie Echoes , I like any group that don't use tracks and stacks.

J. Gilmore: Great! I also enjoy the old Statemen and the Dixie Echoes! Tell about the ealry days of the Dove Brothers QT? M. Dove: Just some young guys starting a qt and it went from there.

J. Gilmore: Awesome! You recently went "solo" sort of as the the McCray Dove Band. What led to that decision?

M. Dove: Not really we are a real Band we play and sing Devin Dove on drums and tenor vocal, Mike Salley on Steel guitar, lead guitar and Baritone vocal and I play Keyboard Bass, piano and Lead Vocal. When my Brother Eric Dove came off the Road for me it just wasn't the same. Plus I had been thinking about doing it this way for quite some time! It just felt like the right thing to do.

J. Gilmore: Yeah, it was more of a reconfuguration then going solo, my mistake. That must have been hard. So what can fans expect from this new band?

M. Dove: Live singing and Live music! Plus we are not just one thing we do a lot of different songs in a program.

J. Gilmore: That's sounds great! Do you have a favorite song to sing? M. Dove: Don't really have a favorite.

J. Gilmore: Do you have a favorite Scripture verse? M. Dove: John 3:16

J. Gilmore: A great word! Jesus loved us so much that he died so that we could have everlasting life!! Now, what is something people may not know about you?

M. Dove: I like different styles of music.

J. Gilmore: Cool! What is the most memorable experience you've had in your years of singing Gospel music?

M. Dove: I guess my first time singing in front of an audience!

J. Gilmore: And lastly, Ant advice for aspiring Gospel artists? M. Dove: Find your voice!

J. Gilmore: Awesome! Straight to the point! Thank you so much for your time!

For more info on McCray Dove, check out: http://mccraydoveband.com/

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page