top of page

Spotlight Interview with Ian Owens of Soul'd Out Quartet

Southern Gospel Spotlight Presents:

An Interview with Ian Owens of Soul'd Out Quartet.

Ian Owens is an incredibly talented man of God!! He is one of the best in the business in my humble opinion! I've had the pleasure of seeing this impressive bass in concert twice while he was with Ernie Haase & Signature Sound. Both times he blew me away with his range and his wit! I will never forget how he remembered me by name the second time as it had been several months since I had seen him last.

For this interview, I contacted him via Facebook as I haven't had the chance to see him with SOQT yet and here is how he responded to my questions!!

Also in conjunction with the release of his new record, Ain't Misbehavin', I have included a brief CD Review after the interview. Enjoy!

Interview:

J. Gilmore: So Ian, How did you get your start in Southern Gospel music? I. Owens: I was raised around Southern Gospel music. I was born and raised in Jackson, MS, and my family was all very musical and involved in local Southern Gospel one way or another. Papaw sings bass; my dad sings bass; my mamaw played piano for my papaw’s quartet; and my mother sang alto in a Gospel trio. In other words, I was always around Southern Gospel music. It was part of my life. I didn’t sing, though. I played instruments. I played bass guitar for my dad’s local quartet and I went to college to major in classical brass. I thought I was going to be a band director. Skipping ahead, I ended up singing bass later on for a local group called The Revelations. We opened for The Cumberland Quartet (formerly the Cumberland Boys) one night in Magee, MS, at a venue called the South Fork Fish house. They had just lost their bass singer and were looking for a replacement. I auditioned that night along with my friend, Michael Means. Michael got the job, but when he left about a year later, they called me and hired me. I spent the next two years singing bass on park at Silver Dollar City in Branson, MO, where I met my beautiful wife of 12 years, Megan Owens. Incidentally, she was a Can-Can dancer in the Silver Dollar Saloon. wink emoticon That’s another story for another time. Ha!

J. Gilmore: Wow! That’s quite the journey from bass player to bass singer!! With this background, who are your musical influences?

I. Owens: Being from a musical family, of course my two biggest influences are my papaw, Bidwell Owens, Sr., and my dad, Butch Owens, who currently sings bass for the Blackwood Brothers Quartet. Outside of my family, my biggest influences are George Younce, Eric Bennett, Tennessee Ernie Ford, and Leon Redbone.

J. Gilmore: What a list of singers!! I’m a huge fan of George Younce and Eric Bennett as well. You come from a great line of bass singers! Your father sounded amazing on the latest Blackwood Brothers record! Speaking of classic groups, what was it like to be a member of The Imperials?

I. Owens: It was great! I got to do some really amazing things at a really young age with some really amazing people!

J. Gilmore: So earlier you mentioned several bass singers, who is your favorite bass?

I. Owens: Eric Bennett – I LOVE Eric’s voice! It’s so easy to listen to, but above all else, Eric is an amazing singer!

J. Gilmore: I completely agree! One of my favorites! What is the lowest note you've hit?

I. Owens: The lowest note I hit on stage on a consistent basis is a Db 1. That’s the last Db on the piano. I have lower, but it’s really ugly. HA!

J. Gilmore: Haha that’s great!! Who are your favorite groups?

I. Owens: Triumphant Quartet, Three Bridges, The Blackwood Brothers Quartet, Signature Sound, and the Kingdom Heirs

J. Gilmore: Those are fantastic groups! All of which are among my favorites! One of my all time favorites is Signature Sound. How did you come in contact with Ernie and the guys?

I. Owens: Well, in SG, just like in all other things, it’s all in who you know. I was good friends with Wayne Haun and Devin McGlamery.

J. Gilmore: Awesome! What was your fondest memory with SSQ?

I. Owens: These questions are hard Justin! lol I have so many, that I literally cannot choose one. That was a wonderful time filled with amazing experiences.

J. Gilmore: It was a great run!! I’m glad I had the chance to see you with them twice out here in California. On a more serious not, what is your favorite Scripture verse?

I. Owens: I know it may be a common one, but I have to go with Jeremiah 29:11. I love that even though I may not know what’s going on, He does and He is always working things to my good. His plans are always better for me than the things I plan for myself.

J. Gilmore: I must say you have fit in with SOQT very nicely. How did come in contact with Soul'd Out?

I. Owens: I knew of Soul’d Out through Signature Sound.

J. Gilmore: Great! That’s good to hear that these incredible groups know each other! There are a lot of great young groups on the rise. Any advice for aspiring Southern Gospel artists?

I. Owens: Here’s some advice for aspiring bass singers in particular: Be a singer, not a special effect. Learn to sing. I mean to REALLY sing. Make sure every note you sing is sung well, not just low. Low notes come with age, experience, and repetition. Don’t make “low” your focus. Make “skill” your focus. Learn to sing a solo. Learn to control your voice. Learn to make your sound pleasing to the ear. There are a lot of people who can sing low, but there are much fewer who can sing pleasingly while singing low.

J. Gilmore: Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to do this!

New Music from Ian Owens!!!

Incredible bass vocalist, Ian Owens is releasing his first ever solo record entitled Ain’t Misbehavin very soon in physical format. It has already been released on multiple digital download platforms such as ITunes, Amazon, and CD Baby. This record takes the listener on a musical journey through the personal favorites of this Gospel music powerhouse! With songs such as the classic bass standards “This Old House,” “I Love To Call His Name,” and “Teach Me Lord To Wait,” other classics like “Ain’t Misbehavin” and “What A Wonderful World” to country hits such as “Long Black Train,” this record has it all!! This CD showcases the amazing talent that Owens possesses. His dynamic range and smooth bass notes shine on these great songs! When I first heard that this project was in the works, it immediately became one of my “most anticipated CDs.” It definitely met my expectations in terms of song selection and overall great vocals!! This record is a MUST BUY in my opinion as it showcases one of the most talented bass vocalists in recent years. 5 stars!!!

For more info on Ian Owens, check out Soul’d Out Quartet’s website, http://souldoutquartet.com/

To purchase Ian’s new CD for digital download, check out http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/ianowens Or ITunes and Amazon.

Also, check Ian’s Facebook, for news concerning the pre-order for the physical CD.

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page