top of page

SONG CORNER: I'VE BEEN CHANGED

I'VE BEEN CHANGED

Written by Jeff Steele, Earl Galloway, Christian Taylor

This week's song corner focuses on one of the most popular songs recorded by Legacy Five. As I discussed in the Spotlight post, original L5 bass singer Glenn Dustin's signature song "I've Been Changed" is a beautifully written testimony. It describes someone who lived a life deep in sin changing his ways and giving his life to Christ. Dustin's smooth bass vocal brings the lyric to life and paints a picture of the conversion story. The first verse describes the conversion itself while the second verse flashes forward in time and describes the difference Christ has made in his life.

The chorus drives home this inspiring message of hope:

"I've been changed/ I've been Changed/ I've been forgiven/ nothing's the same/ All of my past has been erased/ Nothing ahead but amazing grace/ That might explain the look on my face/ I've been changed."

What a powerful message and truth!!! All of my past has been ERASED!! My yesterday's have been buried never to be remembered again! We have been forgiven by Christ who died for our sins. Personally, I can say that I have new life in Him, and I have been changed. This song expresses the great hope that Christ provides for the people of the world.

While Legacy Five recorded it orginally when Dustin was with the group (Live In Music City, 2006) (As seen above), it has become a standard and now current bass Matt Fouch has made it his own. Fouch brings his own smooth bass vocals to the song and does an incredible job with it.

For your viewing and listening pleasure, here are two more versions of this moving song: The first video is a more recent version of the song with group members Gus Gaches (Tenor), Scott Fowler (Lead), Scott Howard (Baritone), Glenn Dustin (Bass) and Tim Parton (Piano) in 2010. The second is the current group featuring Matt Fouch (Bass).

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page