top of page

SPOTLIGHT CD REVIEW: SOULACE V- SOUL'D OUT QUARTET

SOUTHERN GOSPEL SPOTLIGHT PRESENTS:

CD REVIEW:

SOULACE V

SOUL’D OUT QUARTET

RELEASE DATE: AVAILABLE NOW ON www.souldoutquartet.com

GROUP MEMBERS: MATT RANKIN (BARITONE), DUSTY BARRETT (TENOR), JASON MCATEE (LEAD), AND IAN OWENS (BASS)

SONG LIST:

  1. I Never Shall Forget The Day

  2. Red Letters

  3. Wayfaring Stranger

  4. I’m On The Battlefield

  5. I Bowed On My Knees

  6. Will The Lord Be With Me

  7. I Will Rise Again

  8. What It Takes To Be A Savior

  9. Leaning On The Everlasting Arms

  10. America Medley

THOUGHTS:

Soul’d Out Quartet has had a solid, impressive vocal lineup for some time now. This exciting quartet featuring Matt Rankin, Jason McAtee, Dusty Barrett, and Ian Owens takes on more Southern Gospel classics on their latest CD. This fifth installment of their Soulace series features ten Gospel filled classics and a few new gems that are sure to delight listeners.

This incredible album opens with a fresh new spin on the classic Speer Family song “I Never Shall Forget The Day.” This new arrangement honors the original while showcasing the vocal strengths of each member. I especially enjoyed Ian Owens’s smooth bass on his step out lines. “Red Letters” is a beautiful ballad featuring Jason McAtee and tells of someone accepting Christ as their Savior. Christ gives life to those who feel lost and hopeless. McAtee’s soulful voice fits this incredible lyric perfectly. Ian Owens is featured on the bass singer standard “Wayfaring Stranger.” Owens continues to impress me with his incredible range and smooth bass tones. This is one of my favorite tracks on this album without question. Next, Matt Rankin is featured on a fresh arrangement of “I’m On The Battlefield,” which is a declaration of faith and service to Christ. McAtee is featured once again on the classic “I Bowed On My Knees.” While I will always hold Michael English’s version at the top, the groups version of it (very similar to the GVBs) is stellar in its own right. McAtee’s vocal does English proud in my humble opinion. Next, the group puts their own groovy spin on the classic “Will The Lord Be With Me,” which tells of the faithfulness of Christ through it all. Rankin is featured once again on a beautiful ballad entitled “I Will Rise Again,” which tells of Christ’s Sacrifice and Resurrection from His perspective. “Death can’t keep me in the ground.” Amen! Dusty Barrett is featured on another powerful ballad “What It Takes To Be A Savior,” which reminds us of Christ’s Sacrifice.Barrett is an incredible tenor and this song showcases his vocal talent. Next, each member is featured on a fun, groovy version of the classic “Leaning On The Everlasting Arms.” This incredible album closes with a triumphant patriotic medley featuring: “America The Beautiful,” “My Country Tis Of Thee,” “Proud To Be An American,” “Battle Hymn Of The Republic,” and “The Star Spangled Banner.”

FINAL THOUGHTS:

THIS ALBUM IS ONE OF THE BEST THAT SOUL’D OUT HAS RECORDED IN RECENT YEARS. GREAT SONGS, STELLAR VOCALS, AND TOP NOTCH MUSICIANSHIP. HIGHLIGHTS INCLUDE: “WAYFARING STRANGER,” “I NEVER SHALL FORGET THE DAY,” “I BOWED ON MY KNEES,” AND “WHAT IT TAKES TO BE A SAVIOR.” I PERSONALLY LOVE IT WHEN GROUPS GO BACK AND RECORD THE CLASSICS SO THIS WAS RIGHT UP MY ALLEY.

ONE OF MY FAVORITE ALBUMS OF THE YEAR!

5 OUT OF 5 STARS!

FOR MORE INFORMATION: www.souldoutqaurtet.com

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page